My Ears Found Him First (always keep you camara nearby)

________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

I was in the downtown historical district, Apple and I walk there many months of the year. Many times I don’t see anything unusual to photograph, and that lead me to develop a bad habit of leaving my camera at home. It is actually quite inconvenient having to carry it with me when walking Apple. I don’t always have a pocket to stick it in and there is no good way to carry it otherwise. Summertime is especially hard, winter, I usually have on a coat, so I can handily carry it in my coat pocket. But, fortunately the afternoon I saw this guy on the roof,  I had already arrived back at my car and my camera was inside my car.

It don’t think I have ever figured out where the music was coming from before, even though I “may” have heard him playing. He is playing a banjo and even from the long distance his was from me, I think he sounded pretty good. He watched me take his photo, and I was a little shy about doing that, as I worried he thought I was going to report him (never know these days) and ruin his fun. I tried to give him a thumbs up, hoping it would give him the settled feeling that I took his photo because he was giving me enjoyment. Sometimes I don’t know how folks will react to getting their photos taken by strangers in passing, I feel in a way it is a tad bit trespassing. But trespass I did.

______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Here is a closeup..

______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

I am still trying to figure out how he got up there, IF he came out that window on the far lower left side of photo, he was still scaling a very steep incline to get up to the top, and with a banjo in hand it would have been quite tricky, not to mention the trip back down? I don’t think that was the route, but there are no other visible windows for him to have used, the only other possibility was inside that square area he is sitting is a rooftop area, and if so, I like that. I hope that is what he has and was just on the ledge of said rooftop garden/patio.

Me and Apple have a good time here in Charlottesville, she makes me walk everyday, rain, sleet, snow, ice, sunshine, heat, all of the elements; we are out there, and sometimes we get to have a great reward. I get the photo and she gets the exercise.

_________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Leave a Reply

