Merryest Yet!!!

Yesterday was a first for me here at the Pi Beta Phi House in Charlottesville, VA.  The House Residents voted to have a Christmas Party with some of their extra House funds, which is also good news, the House Manager did a wonderful job of budgeting their money and was able to spend it on this little gathering and I was invited! (joy)

They decided upon a cool eatery here in town called Hot Cakes, which has “Gourmet food to go”   doesn’t that  have a nice ring to it? They definitely earn their good reputation. Our food was wonderful, then again, the entire event was planned to a T!   

Apple was even included in the gala, as I have a nice crate, which she is getting accustomed to and it came in very handy for the soiree, she never barked or cried, she did a little attempt at whimpering, but when I asked her to quiet, she stopped doing that. She also got a present from everyone it was a hit too!

Every Year It Just Gets Better and Better!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

What was it that guided me here, many times each year the girls ask me, “how did you end up coming here, all the way from Arkansas?” and I do have a very good reason. But, there seems to be an even deeper level of my having this opportunity/experience, something more spiritual, more nurturing, more in the way of a path that Joseph Campbell speaks of ;

“If you do follow your bliss you put yourself on a kind of track that has been there all the while, waiting for you, and the life that you ought to be living is the one you are living. Follow your bliss and don’t be afraid, and doors will open where you didn’t know they were going to be.”
Joseph Campbell

I told the girls at the table when accepting my Christmas Gift from them;  each year since I began working here, it gets better, and each year, I think it cannot get better the next year, and then it does;  for example, the party yesterday, we have never had that before, nor, have we had the nice Christmas Tree either, each year the girls improve on the life here in the House and I am so blissful, watching how things unfold. My heart is huge~

My Gift

Ohhhhhh…..I had no idea they would get me such a luxurious gift this year? Never before have I received such a gift from them at Christmas? I got a substantial gift card from a Neroli Spa, which is way out of my price range, so this gift will certainly be a nice bonus for me this Christmas Holiday. I am so humbled.  My first year here, they did not even give a Christmas card, nothing at all I tell you, then last year it was a framed picture of the girls, a picture I had taken of them at the beginning of the year and they gave it back to me framed. They gave Peaches a nice  big doggie cookie (she loved it) and her own pretty Christmas stocking, which I appreciated, don’t get me wrong, but this gift, the gift card to the spa, was such a shock. Very different than ever before. Even if, they had just ignored the gift, the party alone was have been enough for me, the gift was just icing on the cake, so to speak.

I am very contented living here in Virginia, it is a long way to get back to Arkansas for a visit, and I miss seeing my friends, but this is my life and this is what Joe Campbell says…

“We must be willing to let go of the life we planned so as to have the life that is waiting for us.”
Joseph Campbell

Yes, I get that , I think for most of my life, I tried to do what others thought I should, or what I “thought” I should, but the path for me was sooo different, that I had never really even seen the door leading to it, the chain of events that led me here are like connecting the dots, and seeing the picture after you get them all connected. I had no idea what the my life would be like when I took this job, but I was certainly willing.

I have tried so many “paths” none of which ever gave me the peace and tranquility and freedom, I have today.

I have 3 other women friends who do this same kind of work, two of them love it as I do, one of them, is a little newer, and I think she likes doing this kind of work, I think with time she will like it more, or maybe a different House will be her answer, but this is a great job, and I love having this life. I am very grateful.

 

Leave a Reply

